Review: Royal Replicas by Michael Pierce

 

Image result for royal replicas bookThe Synopsis:

“Princess Amelia is dead… and one of you will replace her.”
Seventeen-year-old Victoria Sandalwood has served the Duke and Duchess all her life. Over the years, she’s learned to make due with what she has and endure her surrogate father’s awful punishments. She dreams of escape, but never expected it to come in the form of a message from the Queen of Westeria. Victoria learns that she’s the Queen’s daughter, the younger sister to Princess Amelia, and it’s time to come home and claim her birthright. When she arrives, she discovers she’s not the only one who received the royal message. Victoria must compete with six other girls to earn the affection of both the Queen and a princely suitor… and to replace the secretly deceased Princess Amelia. If she fails to win the crown, Victoria may just have to fight for her life…Royal Replicas is the first book in a YA dystopian series. If you enjoy courtly intrigue, heart-pounding adventure, and sweet romance, then you’ll love this captivating story. Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass, Bella Forrest, and Veronica Roth.

 

My Review:

Goodreads – 5/5 Stars

Wow, this book went beyond my expectations.

I’ll start off by saying that there is some detailed child abuse in this story. Just to warn people that are sensitive to the matter. It’s mostly whippings gone to far. I did not like the abuse in the story, but it did make the story more complete and rounded. You really feel for the character and understand how much winning and over coming it all means to them.

“I made sure each book received no more than an extra crease in my care; they were so sacred to me. They were my escape.”

I saw some previous reviews comparing it to Twilight, but I don’t think it’s anything like Twilight at all. There is a one paragraph shouting out Twilight and that is it. I actually quite liked the mention of Twilight, I thought it was cute because she had no idea what Twilight was because it was thousands of years before her time. I also saw it was compared to The Selection, but I have not read that series yet so I do not know.

There was a lot of drama and sadness but, also a lot of charm, and charisma and heart racing moments. I loved the steampunk theme of the book. I think it actually might be my first actual steampunk read. Victoria was such a great character and I am a big fan of the Prince. 😍 There was kind of a love triangle going on, for Victoria while also in the running to win the Prince’s heart. Yes, the prince is part of this triangle.

This really is different than most dystopian stories. It was interesting from the beginning, and it kept me interested. The ending was so fantastic I just know the next book is going to be even more awesome. This series is definitely going to be great. I cannot wait to see where Micheal goes with this story.

“For the first time in my life, I had to find someway to take control of my destiny and not be the pawn in everyone else’s games; I needed to find insurance of my own.”

 Related image

Be sure to follow Micheal Pierce on his:

  • Website, if you sign up for his news letter you’ll receive  a free EXCLUSIVE short story prequel of Royal Replicas, Reset. I read it after Royal Replicas and I think it was a nice edition to the story. There is also abuse in this story as well.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

 

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you have any questions or comments feel for to comment below! I’d love to hear them! ❤
kelsey-name-design2
Instagram-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Twitter-The Booksih_Life
Goodreads-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Tumblr-CriticUncriticalBookworm
Litsy- Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

