Review: Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

This is my first Livia Blackburne book and it was great and refreshing. I was given this book by NetGalley and it will be released on November 7, 2017. I am already super excited for its sequel.

Synopsis:

Image result for rosemarkedA healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art—until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule—even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.

This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes.

Image result for 3 crows

My Review:

Goodreads – 5/5 Stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It’s unlike anything I have ever read with a plague, potions, and a soldier. The book is fast paced and never has a dual moment. It doesn’t take long at all to get to the start of Zivah and Diaeas mission. The book is both in Zivah and Diaeas’s POV depending on the chapter you are reading.  I think that made the story even better. I loved Zivah and Diaeas and all the side characters. They all had there own great personalities. Zivah captivated me from the start. Her struggles to balance her commitment to healing and her vows to her Goddess were interesting to watch progress. She really grows throughout the book in many ways and I think becomes stronger in the end. I also fell for Diaeas’s from the beginning and really felt for him. We don’t know his whole back story, but we know enough that you’ll understand him completely on the way he feels. The writing of this book was great. Blackburne did a great job especially on the “two Diaeas’s” 😉

“The old Dineas would never have shown such happiness at the sight of me, but the new Dinea’s smile is infectious, and his eyes are warm”

This world Livia Blackburne created is unlike any other. There were unexpected twists, and moments that had me holding my breath. Things that I didn’t think would happen. Some parts had my heart skipping a beat. This book really was something else.

“I can give you sleeping potions. The kind I use in my blow gun for capturing animals, if you promise not to harm your victims after they fall asleep”
“That’s a complicated set of rules”
Is there anything about our situation that isn’t complicated”?

The ending came fast and it was great. I am already dying to have the next book. I am rooting for Zivah and Diaeas and their people and I hope there will be peace, but I have a feeling there will definitely be war.

 

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you have any comments or questions feel free to comment below. I’d love to hear them. ❤

kelsey-name-design2
Instagram-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Twitter-The Booksih_Life
Goodreads-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Tumblr-CriticUncriticalBookworm
Litsy- Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm

Have a Instagram? Check out my Instagram Challenge for July!
It’s not to late to join in!
#UncriticalJuly – Instagram Challenge

5 thoughts on “Review: Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

Add yours

  1. I’ll definitely have to check this book out further! Thanks for introducing it to me, and for an awesome review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome!
      I am so glad you liked the review and thanks for commenting! ❤️️

      I checked out you’re blog and I think it looks great. You are definitely doing a good job! All I do really is try to make it look pretty and type like I talk, if that makes sense. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

