Review: Lock and Mori by Heather W. Petty

Image result for lock and mori

The Synopsis:

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

 

My Review:

Goodreads-5/5 Star

I am a big fan of Sherlock Holmes and I was completely satisfied of this retelling. I saw a lot of negative reviews on Goodreads and I absolutely disagree with them all. I see a lot of people didn’t like the way Sherlock was portrayed. I think Heather W. Petty did a fantastic job at portraying Sherlock. I think a lot of people are forgetting that this is a modern story and Lock is a teenager! I also have no idea why any one would think this story was bland. There really wasn’t one boring moment in this book. It was never at a slow pace. It was exciting and full of surprises!

This whole book was such a surprise to me! I thought it was a children’s book when I received it, but boy I was wrong! This book is full of humor and a bit of cursing, but that is totally fine with me. This story also covers child abuse and of course murder. All in all, I think it is a cute twist on the stories of Sherlock. I loved how Heather W. Petty presented Sherlock,Moriarty,Mycroft and yes there is even some Watson! I hope to see even more of them in the future books.

There is a love interest between Lock and Mori, but I liked it. I think it added more to the story and could take a turn to the opposite or could progress into something more. I do hope that it does take turn for the good though. Lock and Mori as a couple is adorable. I also think Lock is really good for Mori. But who know what is going to happen especially if Mori is really like the Moriarty we know.

This book was such a fun read. I really enjoyed the case they worked on. I loved Lock’s personality, of course and Mori’s as well! Mori was such a strong and brave character. I compared myself to her and her personality. I felt like I would have made a lot of the same dissensions she made.

“He can’t make you less than you are. No one could.”

I loved the writing and the setting of the story. Even though it was in Mori’s point of view I felt Lock’s emotions and pictured Lock’s point of view clearly. I can’t wait to see where this story is heading next. The ending of Lock and Mori was taking a dark turn, but it was very bittersweet.

“Maybe that’s how one becomes a killer. Not with decision, but with acceptance.”

I really enjoyed this book and I am so glad that I already own the second book in the series Mind Games. I am also really excited for the third book Final Fall to come out in November and I look forward to reading Heather W. Petty future books.

“The game was definitely afoot.”

Image may contain: 4 people

One Of My Favorite Parts

Just a little taste.

Spoiler Free ❤

“You’ve been skiving off, and now you’re caught”
I tried my best to smile at him. “By you?”
“Yes,by me”
“And how do you know this, Mr. Holmes?” I leaned close. “Where’s your proof?”
“I sat outside your chemistry class and you never came out”
He was awfully cute when he was smug. Irritating, but cute. “How do you know I didn’t just leave class early?” So, it was more on the irritating side when he leaned in and smelled my hair.
“You’ve been in the park!”

“You can smell the park on me?”
“No, your hair tells me you took a bus. Your shoes tell me you were at the park, most likely after ten forty-five this morning” I looked down, and there were green stains on my trainers and little bits of grass stuck to the canvas. “Or maybe out on the the football field.”
“No, unfortunately for you, our school’s grounds staff mows the field after seven each night. The sprinklers come on at dawn, washing those pesky leavings into the the thatch. But the park –“
“You are now going to tell me that you know the grounds schedule to Regent’s Park?
He reached down and pulled a leaf off the bottom of my shoe and held it up. “This says you were down at the canal”  I very much failed to restrain my grin.
“You were at the crime scene. Without me.”
Lock was also cute when he scowled.

Image result for heather w petty

Be sure to follow Heather on her:

 

 

*All images from Google

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you have any questions or comments feel for to comment below! I’d love to hear them! ❤
kelsey-name-design2
Instagram-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Twitter-The Booksih_Life
Goodreads-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Tumblr-CriticUncriticalBookworm
Litsy- Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm

Like Reviews? Check out my other ones!
Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
Review: Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty
Review: No Ordinary Star (Book 1) By: M.C Frank

Have a Instagram? Check out my Instagram Challenge for July!
#UncriticalJuly – Instagram Challenge

One thought on “Review: Lock and Mori by Heather W. Petty

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

