Fantasy Books I’m Anticipating Most For The Second Half Of 2017

Hello Everyone! ❤

Since 2017 is a half way over. I figured what a great time to talk about the rest of the releases of 2017. If you love YA Fantasy you’ll love this list.

Here are 10 books from the Fantasy genre I am looking forward to reading the most for the rest of the year.

 

lovedLoved By P.C Cast and Kristen Cast
Release Date: July 11th

I must say I think that Loved is the book I am most excited about reading this year! I love the House of Night series so much and I am so glad they brought it back! Even though it is technically a new series, it still has Zoey and the gang in it!

Synopsis from Goodreads: The bestselling series has returned! Join P.C. and Kristin Cast in celebrating the tenth anniversary of the House of Night series by going on a thrilling new adventure with your beloved Nerd Herd. It’s Zoey’s eighteenth birthmas and the Nerd Herd has been scattered across the country busily adulting for almost a year when Stark calls them back to Tulsa to surprise Z. But all is not well in T-town. Strange, dark signs are appearing—could it be possible Neferet is stirring? Not willing to chance disaster striking again, Zoey calls on her newly reunited friends to circle with her and add a layer of protection over Neferet’s grotto jail. Easy-peasy, right? Wrong. Nothing at the House of Night is ever as it seems. With rabid red vampyres closing in, Zoey and the Nerd Herd must come together again and battle evil. But a year is a long time. Have these old friends grown too far apart?When the world fractures and allies become enemies, will darkness devour friendships or will light save those she’s loved?

 

savageThe Savage Dawn by Melissa Grey
Release Date: July 11th

So this is the third novel of The Girl At Midnight trilogy and I am late to the game. I haven’t read any of them, YET. This series sounds really good to me and I love the covers. I probably won’t get to read them till the Fall though.

Synopsis from Goodreads: The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn.
Echo awakened the Firebird. Now she is the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory. The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master its overwhelming force. And now she’s plagued by uncertainty. With Caius no longer by her side, she doesn’t know if she can do it alone. Is she strong enough to save her home and the people she loves? Whether Echo is ready to face this evil is not the question. The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.

 

 

darkOne Dark Throne by Kendare Blake
Release Date: September 19th

So I must confess that I have had Three Dark Crowns sitting on my shelf for about 6 months now and I keep saying I’m going to read it and it hasn’t happened yet. I really want to read it though. It sounds super exciting. I still have some time before this sequel comes out to read Three Dark Crowns this summer, so I’m hoping to do that.


Synopsis from Goodreads:
The battle for the Crown has begun, but which of the three sisters will prevail? With the unforgettable events of the Quickening behind them and the Ascension Year underway, all bets are off. Katharine, once the weak and feeble sister, is stronger than ever before. Arsinoe, after discovering the truth about her powers, must figure out how to make her secret talent work in her favor without anyone finding out. And Mirabella, once thought to be the strongest sister of all and the certain Queen Crowned, faces attacks like never before—ones that put those around her in danger she can’t seem to prevent.

 

Image result for godsgrave by jay kristoffGodsgrave by Jay Kristoff
Release Date: September 5th

I have another confession. I have not yet read Nevernight. 🤐 I do plan to read it before I get this book in the mail though. Yes, I pre-ordered Godsgrave! I couldn’t help myself, I got the Barnes and Noble Special Edition that is signed! I would have already read Nevernight but, I really wanted the UK cover and it’s been hard for me to find a place to buy it without my bank throwing a hissy fit. So since I pre-ordered the US cover of Godsgrave, I am probably going to just breakdown and get the US Nevernight. I’m definitely still going to get both in UK form too though! I am super excited to read this series though because I loved Iluuminae and Jay Kristoff is just a awesome person! I mean have you seen his tweets and Insta stories!? He is so hilarious!


Synopsis from Goodreads: Assassin Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church ministry think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending Consul Scaeva and Cardinal Duomo, or avenging her familia. And after a deadly confrontation with an old enemy, Mia begins to suspect the motives of the Red Church itself. When it’s announced that Scaeva and Duomo will be making a rare public appearance at the conclusion of the grand games in Godsgrave, Mia defies the Church and sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium for a chance to finally end them. Upon the sands of the arena, Mia finds new allies, bitter rivals, and more questions about her strange affinity for the shadows. But as conspiracies unfold within the collegium walls, and the body count rises, Mia will be forced to choose between loyalty and revenge, and uncover a secret that could change the very face of her world

 

 

Image result for the language of thorns leigh bardugoThe Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
Release Date: September 26th

This book is probably the most I am excited about other than Loved. So making Godsgrave the 3rd I am most excited about. I am currently reading Crooked Kingdom and I have been taking my time with it because I just don’t want it to end! 😭 I love Leigh Bardugo’s writing style and I can’t wait to see what she has come up with in these short stories!


Synopsis from Goodreads:
Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price. Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, these tales will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse. This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them lavishly illustrated with art that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

 

 

Image result for an engandment of ravens by margaret rogersonAn Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
Release Date: September 26th

This is Margaret Rogerson’s Debut Novel and I love reading Debuts! This book definitely sounds really unique and plus look at that cover!


Synopsis from Goodreads:
Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized among them. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes – a weakness that could cost him his life. Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt’s ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love, violating the fair folks’ ruthless Good Law. There’s only one way to save both their lives, Isobel must drink from the Green Well, whose water will transform her into a fair one—at the cost of her Craft, for immortality is as stagnant as it is timeless. Isobel has a choice: she can sacrifice her art for a future, or arm herself with paint and canvas against the ancient power of the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

 

 

jhjjuy.pngWild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore
Release Date: October 3rd

This book sounds amazing! I need to know more about this Fel guy, so I must read this! Of course the gorgeous cover is what drew me to this book though.


Synopsis from Goodreads:
For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world. They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But then, after generations of vanishings, a strange boy appears in the gardens. The boy is a mystery to Estrella, the Nomeolvides girl who finds him, and to her family, but he’s even more a mystery to himself; he knows nothing more about who he is or where he came from than his first name. As Estrella tries to help Fel piece together his unknown past, La Pradera leads them to secrets as dangerous as they are magical in this stunning exploration of love, loss, and family.

 

saintAll The Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: October 10th

Oh gosh. Another confession, I have not read The Raven Boys series. I know, please don’t shun me. I have till October to read them though even though this series has nothing to do with the Raven Boys I am pretty sure. But I would still like to read The Raven Boys first. I actually really have wanted to read The Raven Boys and it has been really high on my TBR for awhile! It is also on my Summer TBR! So I am hoping to get to it real soon.


Synopsis from Goodreads:
Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle-mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. And at the heart of this family are three cousins longing to change its future: Beatriz, the girl without feelings, who wants only to be free to examine her thoughts; Daniel, the Saint of Bicho Raro, who performs miracles for everyone but himself; and Joaquin, who spends his nights running a renegade radio station under the name Diablo Diablo. They are all looking for a miracle. But the miracles of Bicho Raro are never quite what you expect.

 

ren.jpgRenegades by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: November 7th

And we come to my fourth book I am most excited about! I loved the Lunar Chronciles so much, and plan to read all of Melissa Meyer’s books. This new series sounds really awesome and I can’t wait!


Synopsis from Goodreads:
The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone…except the villains they once overthrew. Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

 

 

Image result for winds of winter by george rr martinThe Winds of Winter by George R.R Martin

Rumor has it again that this will be the year we finally get Winds of Winter! Supposedly this Fall! I am starting to feel like we are never going to get it though especially since the show is about to be over and they are creating there own ending. I am just going to keep thinking that so I don’t get my hopes up. I loved the books way more than the show even though I still loved the show. The show started to leave some of my favorite parts out. I really need these last two books in my life!

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and if you have any questions or opinions feel free to comment below! I’d love to hear your thoughts! ❤
kelsey-name-design2

Instagram-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Twitter-TheBookish_Life
Goodreads-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Litsy-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm

5 thoughts on “Fantasy Books I’m Anticipating Most For The Second Half Of 2017

Add yours

    1. I know right!? I am super excited about it, I can only imagine how true Maggie Stiefvater fans feel! 😂

      I am so glad you enjoyed my post, happy to help your TBR grow! 😉❤️️

      Like

  1. This seems like a great year for sequels! This was an awesome list! I was a nervous to read this because I had a feeling more was going to be added to my TBR. Thankfully I had my eye on most of these already. Haha!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

