Review: The Extraction List By Renee N. Meland

This is the first book I read by Renee N. Meland. I was lucky enough to win it in a give away on her twitter. She was also sweet enough to sign it and include some unexpected goodies as well. ❤
prize.jpg

The Synopsis:

extrractWhen fifteen-year-old Riley Crane figures out her best friend Olivia is being abused at home, she knows just who to turn to: her mother Claire, writer and spokesperson of President Gray’s Parental Morality Law. Under this law, Taskforce Officers remove children from their homes if their parents do not meet certain guidelines, taking them to government-run boarding schools where supervisors rehabilitate them, turning them into productive members of society. Or at least that is how it was supposed to work…

Now, after a government official threatens to make Riley the law’s latest victim, Riley and Claire must rely on Cain Foley, a gifted killer with a tongue as sharp as the knives he carries, to get them out of America alive. Though he slices through men’s necks as if they are warm butter, Riley can’t seem to keep her cheeks from flushing every time he speaks. But when they stumble upon a deserted boarding school, Riley sees that escaping the country is only part of their problem. Together, Riley and Cain figure out that a killer can save a life, and a mother can damn a nation.

 

My Review:

Goodreads– 5/5 Stars

“I never thought our country would be in such a state that children’s laughter could have gotten us all thrown in jail or worse.”

As soon as I read the synopsis I was excited to read this book. I love the Dystopian genres. In a lot of ways I think they could really happen, especially the way things now a days seem to be going. I immediately fell in love with Cain. He is hands down my favorite character of the book. I really enjoyed all the characters though and thought they were really well developed. The story is pretty fast paced and gets right down to the order of business from the first chapter. The ending of the first chapter got me! After finishing the book, I am still thinking back on that moment and smiling. I really enjoyed Renee’s writing style as well.

“He was no angel, but I had no interest in angels. I didn’t want perfect. I wanted scars and steel.”

This book takes you on Riley’s journey to her new life and on the way Cain will teach her how to survive in this new life. It is full of action and will make you smile but, also make you feel a little heartache. It was beautifully put together. There was a twist I didn’t see coming at all and the ending was just wow. It was perfect.

Thankfully there is two more books in this series Burning Doors and Leave Me Lost. I can’t wait to read them because I must know what is the next steps in Riley’s life going to be!

ex2ex3

I recommend this book to fans of Divergent,The Hunger Games,The Maze Runner and even though it isn’t as Supernatural as Angelfall it reminded me of that book. Also if you’ve seen the new movie The Thinning or the movie The Road, I think you would also like this book. Even if you don’t fancy any of those things, I recommend that you still give this book a try. It’s a super fast read packed with so much and I promise you won’t regret it.

 

Thank you for reading my post! Feel free to comment below, I’ll love to hear your thoughts or questions. ❤
kelsey-name-design2

Instagram-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm
Twitter-TheBookish_Life
Goodreads-Critic_Uncritical_Bookworm

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

