Mini Review – The Stranger In The Woods By Michael Finkel

.awoods

Summary on the back of the book:

In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even through brutal winters, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store edibles and water, and to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothing, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of his secluded life–why did he leave? what did he learn?–as well as the challenges he has faced since returning to the world. It is a gripping story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.

My Review:

I had to read The Stranger In The Woods for a reading group I am in. Before I got the book I really didn’t think I was going to like this book, at all. I really thought it was going to be boring. I was wrong. It was quite a interesting read. The writer Michael Finkel put all the information together nicely. The story of Christopher Knight was extremely intriguing and I found myself feeling different emotions for the situations Christopher Knight was in. His story made me feel a little bit of remorse, a little bit of anger towards situations he was in. But mostly I was just really inquisitive on why in the world he CHOSE to live in the woods for 27 years even in the dangerously cold winters! The ending of this book did make me feel content on Christopher Knights story but, I still wounder what is he up to now?

Goodreads 4/5 stars

Thank you for reading,

kelsey-name-design2

5 thoughts on “Mini Review – The Stranger In The Woods By Michael Finkel

Add yours

  1. I ended up reading this book a few weeks ago, and found it interesting. But it should have had photographs- for a NF book about someone, there should have been pictures of his campsite.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

